High School Sports Scene Lacrosse Players of the Year

Girls’ Lacrosse Player of the Year
Alex VanderMolen, Rockford
Rockford won its third straight Division 1 state championship this season, and VanderMolen was one of the team leaders from her attacking position. She was an offensive catalyst for the Rams, leading the team with 73 goals and 31 assists. She scored 55 goals last season and has been a steady source of offense for the Rams. VanderMolen will  continue her lacrosse career next year at Ohio State University.

Boys’ Lacrosse Player of the Year
Johnny Wagner, Cranbrook-Kingswood
One of the premier players in both the state and the nation, Wagner came up big when his team needed him the most. In the Division 2 state title game against Okemos, Wagner scored five goals, including the game-winning goal with 10 seconds left in the game. He also scored the game-winning goal in overtime of the state semifinal game. Wagner will be continuing his college career at Marquette University.